top of page

15/09 @ SNFCC the Athens State Orchestra invites us to celebrate the universal and timeless beauty o

Athens State Orchestra: CLASSICS 4 ALL | 15/09/2018 | 21.00 | SNFCC

In September, Parklife outdoor concert series continues its musical journey with the Athens State Orchestra, in a concert celebrating the universal and timeless beauty of classical music.

Stavros Niarchos Park will resound with loved classical melodies and excerpts from the musical West Side Story, the opera Carmen and Ravel's Bolero, to remind us that the classics are part of our lives. Athens State Orchestra is the oldest orchestral music ensemble in Greece and a first-class symphony orchestra with far-ranging activity. Especially for the concert on the Great Lawn, the orchestra will be directed by Thomas Clamor, principle conductor of the Saxon Wind Philharmonic and founder of the Austria-based European Brass Ensemble.

In addition, he is an internationally sought-after guest conductor for multiple symphonic orchestras and chamber-music ensembles around the world. He has also founded the Venezuelan Brass Ensemble, which placed him on some of the greatest stages in the world. He has conducted at, among others, the Salzburg Festival, the London Proms, Carnegie Hall and the Berlin Philharmonic, and is a well-received guest by many orchestras in China, Korea, South America and Europe. Since 2011, he has been the director of the German Wind Academy. He was a guest professor in Weimar and Detmold and is a professor (honoris causa) at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. In 1986, Herbert von Karajan hired him as trumpet player – the then youngest member of the world-class orchestra; he remained a member of the Philharmonic for over 20 years. In 2015, he received the German Order of Merit.


Louis Alberto Castro (1980)

"Ceremonial Fanfare Nº 3" for brass and percussion

Georg Friedrich Handel (1685 - 1759)

Overture - "Music for the Royal Fireworks"

Johann Sebastian Bach(1685 – 1750)

Air from orchestral suite no. 3 BWV 1068

Richard Wagner (1813 - 1883)

"Ride of the Valkyries" - "The Valkyrie"

Franz von Suppe (1819 – 1895)

Overture - "Light Cavalry"

Georges Bizet (1838 - 1875)

Extracts of the two "Carmen" suites for orchestra

Leonard Bernstein (1918 – 1990)

"Maria" and "Mambo" - West Side Story

Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937)


Free admission.

Saturday 15/09/2018



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page